MaryRuth's, Liquid Morning Multivitamin + Hair Growth, Peach Mango, 15.22 fl oz (450 ml) vs Viviscal, Hair Growth Supplement, 60 Tablets: Multivitamin Comparison

MaryRuth’s Liquid Hair Growth vs Viviscal: High-Bioavailability Multivitamin or Evidence-Backed Hair Formula?

MaryRuth’s Liquid Morning Multivitamin + Hair Growth vs Viviscal — Bioavailability-First vs Evidence-First

Hair Growth

MaryRuth’s is a liquid “daily multivitamin + hair support” formula built around Lustriva® (160 mg) and very high biotin (magnesium biotinate), with broad micronutrient coverage that tends to score better on ingredient-form/bioavailability. It fits people who want an all-in-one morning multi in a vegan liquid format and are optimizing general nutrition while adding hair support. The trade-off is that hair benefits are less “product-level proven” and more ingredient-driven—so it may feel too broad if the main goal is rapid shedding control.

Check price:

Hair Growth Supplement

Viviscal is a focused hair formula centered on AminoMar™ marine complex (450 mg per tablet; taken twice daily). Unlike most hair supplements, it has placebo-controlled human trials in women showing reduced shedding and improved hair growth measures over ~3 months, with stronger results often requiring 6 months of consistent use. It’s best when the primary problem is diffuse thinning or excessive shedding and you want a more concentrated, hair-targeted approach. Key constraints: marine allergens (fish/shark, mollusks) and iron-containing warnings (important for households with children and for people avoiding extra iron).

Check price:

Affiliate links — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Bottom line: Choose MaryRuth’s if you want broader daily nutrition and higher-form quality in a liquid multivitamin that also supports hair. Choose Viviscal when you want the stronger product-level clinical evidence for shedding/thinning and a more concentrated “hair-first” formula—while respecting marine-allergen and iron cautions.

Ingredient Breakdown

Supplement Facts for Viviscal, Hair Growth Supplement, 60 Tablets
price category: ⚖️ Standard
index bioavailability:
3.17
Usage & Audience
Serving Size
2 tbsp (30 mL)
1 Tablet
Servings Per Container
15
60
Audience
Adults 18+ yrs
Adults 18+ yrs
Pricing
Price
Price Per Serving
$2.66
$0.62
Price Updated At
09/06/2026 (Iherb US)
03/01/2026 (Amazon US)
Chelated Minerals Overview Details below
Minerals total 23
Pure chelates
0
0
Mixed chelates
0
0
Non-chelated
2
3
Contains chelate (any) 00
Chelate coverage 0%0%
Purity within chelated 0%0%
Hair Evidence Overview Details below
Hair evidence score 6.30 75.00
Shedding (washed hair count) — No data ✅ Strong
Terminal hair count (phototrichogram) — No data ✅ Strong
Vellus hair count (phototrichogram) — No data 🟡 Some
Hair thickness/diameter 🟡 Some — No data
Hair self-assessment / QoL — No data 🟡 Some
Base Ingredients
Bioavailability Legend: ?SuperiorHighUp. MediumMediumVariableLow-MidLowVery low
Ingredient
MaryRuth's
Hair Growth
Amount
Per
Serving
%
Daily
Value
Bio-
availability
Level
Viviscal
Hair Growth Supplement
Amount
Per
Serving
%
Daily
Value
Bio-
availability
Level
Vitamin C
90 mg 100% High
59 mg 65% High
Vitamin B3
32 mg 200% High
12 mg NE 75% High
Vitamin A
1,010 mcg 112% Medium
Ø Absent
Vitamin D
20 mcg (800 IU) 100% High
Ø Absent
Calcium
Ø Absent
60 mg 5% Low
Vitamin E
18 mg 120% Up. Medium
Ø Absent
Iron
Ø Absent
10 mg 56% High
Vitamin B1
6 mg 500% High
Ø Absent
Vitamin B2
6.5 mg 500% Medium
Ø Absent
Vitamin B6
8.5 mg 500% Medium
Ø Absent
Folate
510 mcg DFE 128% High
Ø Absent
Vitamin B12
12 mcg 500% High
Ø Absent
Biotin
10,000 mcg 33,333% High
120 mcg 400% High
Pantothenic acid
10 mg 200% High
Ø Absent
Choline
20 mg 4% High
Ø Absent
Zinc
1 mg 9% Medium
11 mg 100% Very low
Chromium
1,000 mcg 2,857% High
Ø Absent
Extra Ingredients
Aminomar™ Marine Complex
Ø Absent
450 mg † Medium
Horsetail
Ø Absent
36.7 mg † Variable
Millet
Ø Absent
7.5 mg † Variable
Lustriva®
160 mg † Superior
Ø Absent
Inositol
50 mg † High
Ø Absent
MSM
30 mg † High
Ø Absent
Amino Acid Complex
25 mg † High
Ø Absent
Betaine
10 mg † High
Ø Absent
Hesperidin
5 mg † Medium
Ø Absent
Other Ingredients
Other Ingredients
<1 g <1%**
Symbol Decoding
Symbol Decoding
Ø Absent

Aspect Comparison

Positioning & Use-Case
Aspect MaryRuth's, Liquid Morning Multivitamin + Hair Growth, Peach Mango, 15.22 fl oz (450 ml) Viviscal, Hair Growth Supplement, 60 Tablets
Target / Use-Case
Positioning: “daily multivitamin + hair/skin support” in one product. Best fit: - Users prioritizing convenience (liquid) + broad micronutrient coverage + cosmetic hair/skin support. Less fit: - Users seeking hormone/DHT modulation (not a core design on this label). - Users who want non-megadose biotin or who undergo frequent lab testing.
C likely
Target use-case (best-fit based on label + trial populations): • Adults with self-perceived hair thinning / increased shedding, especially “diffuse thinning” profiles. • Users who want a hair-focused supplement with published placebo-controlled evidence (3–6 months use). Less direct fit: • Users seeking DHT/hormone-targeting botanicals (none here). Hard exclusions (label): • Pregnant/nursing; under 18; seafood allergy (fish/mollusks).
B likely
Primary Mechanisms
Mechanism map (evidence-layered): • Micronutrient coverage: vitamins A, B-complex, C, D and E, plus choline, zinc and chromium. • Main hair/skin lever: Lustriva® 160 mg, supported by ingredient-level randomized clinical evidence for hair-thickness and skin endpoints in women. • Secondary additions: inositol, MSM, BCAA blend, betaine and hesperidin are present, but the available evidence does not establish their listed doses as major drivers of the hair outcome. Boundaries: • Not designed as a DHT-targeting botanical formula. • Lustriva® study results are ingredient-level evidence, not a clinical trial of the finished MaryRuth's liquid formula.
B likely
Mechanism map (no promises; based on label + clinical outcomes): • Core lever: marine protein/collagen complex (Aminomar) linked in RCTs to reduced shedding and improved hair metrics. • Shedding lever: reduced shedding over ~3 months in RCTs; may imply follicle-cycle shift (inferred from outcomes). • Fiber quality lever: small but significant increases in hair diameter reported in RCTs. • Nutrient support: iron + zinc + biotin + vitamin C (supportive, not a broad multivitamin). Boundaries / uncertainty: • Not positioned as DHT/hormone modulation. • Aminomar sub-component dosing is not disclosed → mechanism partly “black box” beyond observed endpoints.
C likely
Composition & Key Actives
Aspect MaryRuth's, Liquid Morning Multivitamin + Hair Growth, Peach Mango, 15.22 fl oz (450 ml) Viviscal, Hair Growth Supplement, 60 Tablets
Key Proprietary Ingredients
Key branded complex: Lustriva® 160 mg per serving. Label discloses the complex name and its components: - Inositol-stabilized Arginine Silicate - Magnesium Biotinate Biotin is separately declared as 10,000 mcg (10 mg) as Magnesium Biotinate. Important: the 160 mg Lustriva® amount is the mass of the complex and should NOT be added as another biotin dose. The product label does not disclose the internal mg breakdown of arginine silicate vs magnesium biotinate or the silicon amount.
A confirmed
Key proprietary ingredient: • Aminomar™ Marine Complex — 450 mg per tablet (900 mg/day). Label-listed components (within that line item): • Collagen Type II • Oyster extract powder Allergen context: • Contains fish (shark) and mollusks.
B confirmed
Dose Transparency
Transparency: PARTIAL. - Full mg/mcg disclosed for vitamins/minerals and several add-ons (inositol, MSM, betaine, hesperidin). - Partial for branded/blended items: Lustriva® and BCAA blend lack per-component mg breakdown. Bottom line: key hair-active (Lustriva®) has a disclosed total dose, but sub-components are opaque.
C likely
Dosage transparency = PARTIAL. Disclosed clearly: • Vitamins/minerals mg/mcg. • Horsetail and millet extract mg. Partly opaque: • Aminomar™ is disclosed as 450 mg total, but component doses inside the complex are not disclosed.
B confirmed
Other Notable Nutrients
Hair-relevant nutrients per 30 mL serving: - Vitamin D3: 20 mcg (800 IU). - Folate (L-5-MTHF): 510 mcg DFE. - Biotin (as Magnesium Biotinate): 10,000 mcg (10 mg). - Zinc (as Zinc Citrate): 1 mg (9% DV). - Lustriva®: 160 mg, with ingredient-level randomized study data for hair-thickness endpoints in women. Important: the 160 mg Lustriva® amount is not an additional 10 mg biotin dose.
A confirmed
Notable hair-relevant micronutrients (label): • Iron (ferrous fumarate): 10 mg per tablet (20 mg/day). • Zinc (zinc oxide): 11 mg per tablet (22 mg/day). • Biotin: 120 mcg per tablet (240 mcg/day). • Vitamin C (acerola + ascorbic acid): 59 mg per tablet (118 mg/day). • Niacin (niacinamide): 12 mg NE per tablet (24 mg/day). Note: zinc oxide is generally considered a lower-bioavailability zinc form vs chelates; label does not provide alternative forms.
B confirmed
Other Notable Nutrients
Other notable label items (per 30 mL): - Vitamin A (beta-carotene) 1,010 mcg; Vitamin C 90 mg; Vitamin E 18 mg. - B-complex: B1 6 mg, B2 6.5 mg, niacinamide 32 mg, B6 8.5 mg, pantothenic acid 10 mg. - Choline 20 mg; Chromium picolinate 1,000 mcg. - Add-ons: inositol 50 mg; MSM 30 mg; BCAA complex 25 mg; betaine 10 mg; hesperidin 5 mg.
B confirmed
Other notable label items: • Calcium: 60 mg per tablet (120 mg/day) — low contribution vs typical daily needs. • Horsetail extract: 36.7 mg per tablet (73.4 mg/day). • Millet seed extract: 7.5 mg per tablet (15 mg/day). • Total carbohydrate: <1 g per tablet (negligible). No additional amino acid “builders” (e.g., cysteine/methionine/lysine) are disclosed on this label.
B confirmed
Biotin Content
Biotin per serving: 10,000 mcg (33,333% DV). Declared form: Biotin (as Magnesium Biotinate). Interpretation: - This is the total declared biotin dose; Lustriva® 160 mg should not be added as a second biotin dose. - Very high supplemental dose relative to nutritional requirements. - No UL is established for biotin; the main practical concern at this dose is interference with certain laboratory tests.
A confirmed
Biotin (label): • 120 mcg per 1 tablet. • 240 mcg/day at the recommended 2 tablets/day. Biotin form: • Not disclosed (listed simply as “Biotin”).
B confirmed
Structural Builders (Hair Shaft)
Hair-structure-related additions: - Lustriva® contains an arginine silicate component, but the product label does not quantify the silicon amount. - BCAA blend: 25 mg total; individual leucine, isoleucine and valine amounts are not disclosed. - MSM: 30 mg. The available product evidence does not establish the BCAA or MSM doses as major drivers of the hair-thickness outcome. Not specifically dosed on the label: collagen, keratin, cysteine or lysine.
C likely
Structural “builders” for hair shaft (what’s actually present): • Aminomar™ marine complex includes collagen/protein fractions (collagen type II; oyster extract powder listed). • Vitamin C supports collagen synthesis pathways (supportive, not hair-specific). • Horsetail is often used as a “silica” herb, but silica content is NOT disclosed/standardized here. Not present / not disclosed: • No explicit keratin, L-cysteine, L-methionine, L-lysine, MSM (not found on label).
C likely
Delivery & Bioavailability
Mechanism
Label Transparency
Evidence & Claims
Aspect MaryRuth's, Liquid Morning Multivitamin + Hair Growth, Peach Mango, 15.22 fl oz (450 ml) Viviscal, Hair Growth Supplement, 60 Tablets
Claimed Time to Results
Brand claim: thicker, fuller hair in women "as early as 3 weeks," based on Lustriva® ingredient research. Evidence check: - A 12-week randomized, double-blind trial enrolled 90 women with self-reported thinning hair. - The high-dose Lustriva® group showed statistically significant changes versus placebo in objective TrichoScan hair-thickness parameters at Week 3, maintained during the study. Important limitation: - This was a Lustriva® ingredient trial, not a trial of the finished MaryRuth's multivitamin. - The Week-3 result should not be interpreted as a guarantee of visible regrowth for every user.
B confirmed
Time-to-results claim (label): • Take for 3–6 months. • “May start seeing results in as little as 3 months”; 6 months recommended for thicker, fuller hair. Claim vs biology: • Hair-cycle timelines make a multi-month window plausible; short “weeks-level” promises are not the core claim here.
B confirmed
Clinical Evidence (end-product vs ingredient)
Clinical evidence status: - Finished product (this liquid multivitamin): NO peer-reviewed, placebo-controlled RCT located. - Ingredient-level: Lustriva® (biotin + silicon/arginine complex) has at least one double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in women reporting improved hair thickness and skin endpoints. Strength note: - Evidence is primarily “ingredient RCT → extrapolated to product,” which is weaker than a finished-product RCT.
C likely
Finished-product evidence exists (placebo-controlled human RCTs) for Viviscal/AminoMar-based formulas. Key examples (women): • 3-month double-blind RCT: Viviscal Extra Strength (twice daily) increased terminal hair count and reduced shedding vs placebo (Ablon 2015). • 6-month multisite double-blind RCT: marine/AminoMar-based supplement reduced shedding and increased fine-hair diameter vs placebo (Rizer et al. 2015; PMC available). • 6-month double-blind RCT: “Viviscal Professional Strength” improved terminal hair growth and hair diameter vs placebo (Ablon et al. 2015; PMC available). Men: • 6-month double-blind RCT: Viviscal Man improved hair counts/density and reduced hair-pull shedding vs placebo (Ablon 2016). Limitations: • Manufacturer involvement/sponsorship is common across this evidence base; independent replication would strengthen confidence.
B confirmed
Independence / Sponsorship
Study independence / sponsorship: - The published Lustriva® randomized trial was funded by JDS Therapeutics. - JDS Therapeutics also supplied the study products and placebo. - The authors disclosed that they were employees of Nutrasource, the CRO that oversaw the study. Interpretation: - This is sponsor-funded ingredient-level evidence, not an independently funded replication. - The randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled design is a strength, but independent replication would increase confidence.
B confirmed
Study independence (bias risk): • Multiple placebo-controlled trials exist, but manufacturer involvement is common (e.g., trials explicitly identify Viviscal/Lifes2good; some include company-linked authors or funding). Practical interpretation: • Evidence is stronger than “ingredient-only marketing”, but not the same as fully independent replication across multiple unrelated teams.
B confirmed
Safety & Red Flags
Aspect MaryRuth's, Liquid Morning Multivitamin + Hair Growth, Peach Mango, 15.22 fl oz (450 ml) Viviscal, Hair Growth Supplement, 60 Tablets
Biotin: Lab Test Interference Flag
Flag: YES — high-dose biotin. Label warning: “Biotin may interfere with some blood test results.” Why it matters (independent safety guidance): - Can cause falsely high/low results in certain immunoassays (notably some thyroid panels and cardiac troponin assays). Actionable user note: disclose high-dose biotin use to clinician/lab before bloodwork.
A confirmed
Lab-test interference risk (biotin): • FDA warns biotin can interfere with certain lab tests (including troponin; also many immunoassays). Dose realism for THIS product: • At 240 mcg/day (recommended use), this is far below “high-dose biotin” regimens (often ≥5,000 mcg/day) most associated with clinically significant interference. Practical rule: • Risk is likely LOW at label dose, but disclose use before sensitive labs, especially if stacking other biotin products.
A likely
Thyroid Flag (Iodine/Kelp)
No iodine/kelp indicated on the Supplement Facts label. Not disclosed: any iodine content from “evaporated sea water” (listed in Other Ingredients) is not quantified as iodine on the label.
B confirmed
Iodine/kelp/seaweed flag: • No iodine or kelp/seaweed ingredients indicated on the Supplement Facts label. Not found on label.
B confirmed
GI Irritation Flag
GI / tolerance profile: - Major commonly discussed GI-active additions such as piperine, capsaicin or black pepper extract are not present on the label. - Brand directions allow the product to be taken with food, juice or on an empty stomach. - Product-specific rates of nausea or other GI intolerance are not established by the provided evidence.
C likely
GI irritation flags: • No classic GI irritants/absorption boosters listed (no piperine/capsaicin). • Iron (ferrous fumarate) can cause GI effects in some users (nausea, constipation), especially if taken without adequate food. Net: mild GI risk mainly driven by iron sensitivity.
B likely
High-Dose Pressure (UL proximity)
High-dose / safety-attention signals: - Biotin: 10,000 mcg (10 mg). No UL is established; the main practical concern is interference with certain laboratory tests. - Chromium: 1,000 mcg. No UL is established because safety data are limited; caution is warranted with high supplemental intake, particularly in susceptible users and with relevant medications. Other high-%DV nutrients: - Niacinamide: 32 mg (200% DV). - Vitamin B6: 8.5 mg (500% DV). - Several other B vitamins provide 500% DV. High %DV should not by itself be interpreted as exceeding a safety limit.
A confirmed
Upper-limit (UL) pressure check at recommended 2 tablets/day: • Iron: 20 mg/day (adult UL = 45 mg/day) → below UL, but meaningful dose; stacking iron can push higher. • Zinc: 22 mg/day (adult UL = 40 mg/day) → below UL; stacking zinc can push toward UL. • Niacin: 24 mg NE/day; UL for niacin is 35 mg/day (note: UL is mainly based on flushing with nicotinic acid; niacinamide differs, but label uses niacinamide). Net: UL pressure = low-to-moderate, mainly relevant if the user stacks multiple multis/minerals.
A likely
Safety & Precautions
Key safety precautions (label + independent safety guidance): - High-dose biotin (10,000 mcg): can interfere with certain laboratory tests, including some thyroid-related and cardiac assays. Disclose use before bloodwork. - Pregnancy/lactation: label advises clinician consultation. - Chromium picolinate (1,000 mcg): high supplemental dose; limited safety data warrant caution, particularly with kidney/liver disease. - Chromium may interact with insulin, antidiabetes medications and levothyroxine. - Avoid unintentionally stacking additional high-dose biotin if laboratory-test interference is a concern.
A confirmed
Key safety / contraindications (label + high-quality safety guidance): Label warnings: • NOT intended for pregnant or nursing women; NOT for persons under 18. • Iron overdose warning for children: keep out of reach; seek urgent help in overdose. • If taking medications, consult a clinician before use. Allergen warnings: • Contains fish (shark) and mollusks (oyster) → avoid if seafood allergy. Iron-specific cautions (practical): • 20 mg/day iron at recommended use: consider avoidance/clinician guidance for men, postmenopausal women, hemochromatosis, or those already supplementing iron. Biotin / lab tests: • FDA warns biotin can interfere with some lab tests; this product’s biotin dose is low, but disclose supplement use before critical labs (especially if stacking biotin).
A confirmed
Practical Use
Cost & Value